All Scratch Cakes Sink

Decorating By thelittlebakeryshop Updated 8 Apr 2014 , 7:55pm by as you wish

thelittlebakeryshop Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
thelittlebakeryshop Posted 8 Apr 2014 , 12:11am
post #1 of 7

I am a very accomplished baker.  However, when it comes to baking cake from scratch they all sink in the middle.  Any ideas?  The oven temp is correct, I have a thermometer.  I bake until tester comes out clean.  I have baked at 350* for prescribed time, at 325* and added time.  I have baked and used convection but nothing I do seems to fix the problem. I have used new baking powder, fresh eggs, old powder, older eggs. I have used the flower nail method, nothing works.  It happens on 6", 8", 10". 12" 14" cakes  I use recipes from trusted sources, King Arthur, professional bakers, nothing I do seems to keep my scratch cakes from sinking.  Box cake mixes bake up perfect, however, nobody wants to buy a boxed cake when they are paying big bucks for their wedding cake.  I have been getting by with the sinking by adding additional filling and icing.  It's time to fix the problem.  Any ideas.  Oh and I live at 2516 ft elevation.  Could this have anything to do with it.  I don't have any problems with other recipes, brownies, cookies, pies, breads if we are considering elevation, so I don't make any adjustments.  As I write this I have just now come up with the elevation idea and haven't checked into making adjustments.  And.....discuss........

Thanks in advance for your help. 

6 replies
Narie Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Narie Posted 8 Apr 2014 , 1:28am
post #2 of 7

Interesting problem. 

1-Do you over mix once you add the dry ingredients?  Beat the butter, sugar and eggs as much as you want, but you need to just mix in the dry ingredients and stop as soon as it is combined.  You can beat a cake mix smooth but not a scratch cake.

2- Have you checked the accuracy of your oven? An oven that is even 25 degrees off can really mess with cakes.