Stacking Cakes With Styrafoam Spacers?

Decorating By vanki Updated 15 Apr 2014 , 3:33am by mareg

vanki Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
vanki Posted 4 Mar 2010 , 10:57pm
post #1 of 12

I am making a 3-tier wedding cake with styrafoam spacers in between cake tiers. This is my first time using foam spacers and i don't want the cake to tip over. Could someone tell me how they have handled this type of cake? How should i stack these layers? Should i insert a long dowel pin from the top to bottom to secure it? And is it better to transport it fully assembled or assemble it on site?

Any and all tips are greatly appreciated!

11 replies
bizatchgirl Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
bizatchgirl Posted 5 Mar 2010 , 4:53am
post #2 of 12

Always do 1 dowel down and through the middle of all of your tiers. The dowels you do in each tier only keep the cake from smooshing the one below it. The dowel through the middle of all of your tiers will keep them from slipping off of eachother.

Not sure about anything specific to your foam question though. Sorry and good luck!!

indydebi Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
indydebi Posted 5 Mar 2010 , 9:15am
post #3 of 12

I did one of these. I doweled the cake as normal (dowels inside the cake tosupport the upper tier).

I put a cardboard under the styrofoam just to help insure the dowels wouldn't go thru the styrofoam (might have been overkill, but it was my first one, ya know? icon_rolleyes.gif )

I assembled the cake on-site. Placed the styrofoam on the bottom tier, then placed the middle tier on the styro, etc. I put a small dollop of BC icing on top of the styrofoam just as a little added assurance to hold the middle and top tiers in place.

Easy Peasy!

KHalstead Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
KHalstead Posted 5 Mar 2010 , 2:45pm
post #4 of 12